Posted by: spiritteacher | October 26, 2009

GOD IS

A wise and thoughtful person recently asked me, “What does it mean to say God is Love in a metaphysical sense?” As I always do, I asked for guidance in answering. Interestingly enough, each answer I received seemed to circumvent the question, rather than answer it directly. I wanted to be more specific and helpful, but try as I might no specific answers came to me. Perhaps that is because God is beyond specifics, beyond analytical thinking and even beyond metaphysics in the way we perceive it.  Then this thought came to my mind; A Course In Miracles teaches that the greatest prayer is this: God Is.  And then we stop. 

I’m not certain that we, with our limited perspective can analyze what God is in a metaphysical or any other sense only because when we are asking questions, we are not, at that moment, experiencing God. I have spent most of my life questioning God and His Universe. Why? When? How? What? Who? After all this time, it seems I am the most peaceful when I simply allow my mind to become still and forget about asking questions altogether.  Maybe the answer is to simply know He is and that’s enough. As I was contemplating all this a thought popped into my head.  “God is an Experience that cannot be questioned or answered in the world.” I heard this very lovingly and clearly.  When I hear this way I know that I must simply express gratitude and let it go. 

May you walk in peace today knowing you are blessed and a blessing in the world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

